Shipping cost in flypage / browse page

Please post any feature requests here

Shipping cost in flypage / browse page

Postby atrus80 » Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:03 pm

Hi Stan,

From our experience, it is very helpful and increases the conversions dramatically if the shipping cost of a product was shown in the browse page / flypage. Do you think it would be possible to create a VM2 plugin for this? (for normal VM2 weight-based shipping method). We can help with the funding ofcourse, if reasonable.

Looking forward to your reply.

Rgrds,
Chris
atrus80
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:22 pm

Re: Shipping cost in flypage / browse page

Postby admin » Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:21 am

Hello Chris, actually this can easily be done with OPC over ajax, but how would we get the "default" zip code or the state? The Geo IP database with zip codes is way too large (6 mil records for ipv4 only). If you have an image idea of how this would look like, i can write the module - it can be then distributed as OPC add-on as OPC already has all the code ready to load full shipping over ajax in a drop down or radio boxes.

Best Regards,
Stan
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2624
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:43 pm

Re: Shipping cost in flypage / browse page

Postby atrus80 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:53 am

Hi Stan,

We have done some implementation on our template files as you can see here:

http://www.quality-tuning.eu/exhaust-tips?limitstart=0

Basically what we have done is the following:

- Assign a shopper group to each joomla language (OPC supports that)
- Assign shipping methods to shopper groups (through VM2)

The code checks only current shopper group of the page and product kg and fetches the proper shipping methods in browse page / flypage (not over ajax).

Ofcourse above solution is much more restrictive and cannot be used for all user, i'm sure with OPC you have more flexiblity.

Rgrds,
Chris
atrus80
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:22 pm

Re: Shipping cost in flypage / browse page

Postby gestion@.....com » Sun Sep 22, 2013 2:42 pm

Hi, you probably have this solved by now.

Having the same need as you had I tell you what we did:

In flypage and browse page under the price just add a link:

+ shipping costs

and make a table with all your shipping costs or what we did, a table with prices including shipping costs per destination.

We sell low cost products maybe as you and the shipping cost has to be clearly reflected.

This is not an OPC thing really but a template thing more.

OPC already loads a default shipping cost if you set it that way + we use the geolocator plugin.

Is not a perfect solution but we've had 0 complains as the user clearly has a link to a table showing all the prices + shipping costs.

Regards
gestion@.....com
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:34 pm


Return to Feature Request

cron